Ayurveda Dosha

Theories and basics that drive ayurveda.

Learn all about your body type.

Inspirations for a healthy lifestyle.

Ayurveda is a leading alternative medicine and probably the most holistic medicine system existing. It translates to “Science of Life” and with its 5 000 years of history Ayurveda is also the oldest known healing science — preserved until today in India, where it stems from. It was established by the same great Vedic seers and sages that invented Yoga and Meditation.

  • Kaya chikitsa: general medicine; research into symptoms and healing methods
  • Bala chikitsa: pediatrics; treatment of children and infants
  • Grah chikitsa: psychiatry; treatment of psychological disturbances
  • Urdhwanga chikitsa: treatment of eyes, ears, nose and throat
  • Salya chikitsa: surgery; treatment of pathological disturbances
  • Damshtra chikitsa: toxicology; treatment of animal inflicted wounds and poisoning
  • Jara chikitsa: geriatrics; treatment of ageing
  • Vrushya chikitsa: sexology; treatment of impotence

Ayurveda links mind, body and soul

Disease and health are both the result of the interaction of all three aspects: Body, Mind and Spirit. And whatever we can do for our health ourselves is better than what others can.

Like other traditional healing methods Ayurveda follows a unified body-mind-spirit orientation to prevent illness and preserve life. It encompasses all aspects of mind and body that are relevant for the human health; physically and mentally as well as spiritually and deals with the subtle relationships and links between body, mind and environment. This approach differs significantly from the Western Medicine which doesn’t seem to connect them. But it is not enough to make changes on the physical level only because everything is linked in one way or another. So constant good health and well being can’t be achieved by ignoring any of the parts but by achieving harmony between all of them. In Ayurveda the mind-body link is the key to good health because it allows to attack the root causes of a disease

The Elements and the Doshas

All of the doshas contain all five elements (as do all things in nature), but each is predominantly composed of two elements.

DoshaPrimary Elements
VataAir + Ether
PittaFire + Water
KaphaWater + Earth

As with the elements, all three of the doshas can be found in everyone and everything, but in different proportions. They combine to create different climates, different foods, different species, and even different individuals within the same species. In fact, the particular ratio of vata, pitta, and kapha within each of us provides us with a blueprint for optimal health (otherwise known as our constitution), and garners a significant influence on our individual physical, mental, and emotional character traits—as well as our unique strengths and vulnerabilities. If you don’t know your Ayurvedic constitution, please consider setting up your Ayurvedic Profile™, an assessment of both your constitution and your current state of balance. When you do, you will also receive a set of personalized recommendations designed to support you in your journey toward optimal health.

Important Information on the Ayurveda Test and Ayurveda Types

What is an Ayurveda Type?

In Ayurvedic medicine, the personal constitution of the person is the starting point for all treatments. This constitution (Sanskrit: prakruti) expresses itself as an individual manifestation of the three doshas (bioenergies or life forces): vata, pitta, and kapha. Since birth, every person has had this unchanging constitution, also called the Ayurveda type.

Which Ayurveda Types Are There?

A total of 10 different Ayurveda types can be distinguished with the Ayurveda Test. When one of the Doshas is dominant, the constitution is either Vata, Pitta, or Kapha. The following combined forms are also possible: Vata-Pitta or Pitta-Vata, Vata-Kapha or Kapha-Vata, Pitta-Kapha or Kapha-Pitta as well as the balanced Vata-Pitta-Kapha (Tri-Dosha).

How Does the Ayurveda Test Work?

The questions address various physical, mental, and emotional aspects. The possible responses can each be assigned to one dosha.

Why Is the Ayurveda Test So Important?

The Ayurvedic medical system aims to create inner and outer balance, as this is the prerequisite for health, fitness, and happiness. Since one or two doshas are more prominent in the vast majority of people, creating this balance is crucial. To better understand this, it is worth taking a more precise look at vata, pitta, and kapha:

The vata dosha consists of the elements of space and air, the pitta dosha of fire and water, the kapha dosha of water and earth. For a harmonious living environment, it is necessary to have these five elements in balance. For example, too much rain (the water element) would wash away the land; too much sun (the fire element) would burn the ground.

It is also similar with the doshas in our body. If vata, pitta, and kapha keep flowing smoothly, we are healthy. If there are accumulations of one dosha or another, we get sick.